County of Santa Clara

Office of Supportive Housing

2310 N. 1st Street, Suite # 201 San Jose, CA 95131 (408) 278-6400 Main (669) 220-1444 Fax



May 28, 2021

TO: Honorable Members of the Board of Supervisors

Jeffrey V. Smith, County Executive

From: Consuelo Hernandez, Director, Office of Supportive Housing (OSH)

C.H.

Subject: Strategies to Serve Residents who Need Long-Term Services and Support

Under advisement from the October 6, 2020 (Item No. 21) Board of Supervisors meeting, this memorandum responds to a request from Supervisor Ellenberg relating to pursuing collaborative strategies with Anthem Blue Cross, the Santa Clara County Family Health Plan (SCFHP), and other organizations to serve residents who need long-term services and supports. The Administration proposes returning to the Board with recommendations in early Fall 2021.

Since at least October 2020, the Administration through the Office of Supportive Housing (OSH) has been meeting with the Long-Term Services and Supports Integration Committee ("LTSS") to partner on two strategies to better serve individuals with functional impairments, many of whom are older adults with disabling conditions. The first is to improve methods for identifying and meeting the needs of residents with functional impairments (e.g., their ability to perform daily activities). The second strategy is to develop supportive housing options for individuals leaving skilled nursing facilities by pairing health plan-funded services with County-funded apartments set aside as permanent supportive housing.

OSH has proposed a pilot program using up to 54 units at the Agrihood Senior Housing Development in Santa Clara. These units would be coupled with services funded by SCFHP, the Board of which approved a pilot program to provide services on May 20, 2021. However, the Administration and SCFHP need more time to finalize the agreement and operational workflows.

Cc: Chief Board Aides
Miguel Marquez, Chief Operating Officer
James Williams, County Counsel
Megan Doyle, Clerk of the Board
Ky Le, Deputy County Executive

Board of Supervisors: Mike Wasserman, Cindy Chavez, Otto Lee, Susan Ellenberg, S. Joseph Simitian County Executive: Jeffrey V. Smith