County of Santa Clara

Facilities and Fleet Department

County Center at Charcot 2310 North First Street, Suite 200 San Jose, California 95131-1011 (408) 993-4600



Date:	March 16, 2021
То:	Honorable Members of the Board of Supervisors Jeffrey V. Smith, County Executive
From:	Jeffrey D. Draper, Director, Facilities and Fleet Department
Subject:	Request for Extension to Referral from the Board of Supervisors Meeting on April 21, 2020 (Item No. 26)

At its April 21, 2020 (Item No. 26) Board of Supervisors (Board) meeting, the Board directed the Administration to provide an off-agenda report, and a report to the Finance and Government Operations Committee (FGOC), relating to levels of use of the Electric Vehicle Charging Stations. The Administration, through the Facilities and Fleet Department (FAF), requests an extension to June 16, 2021.

The extension is requested for the following reasons:

- User fees were implemented on June 5, 2020, and if FAF were to report on the original scheduled date of April 15, 2021 the report would provide less than nine months of data. FAF believes that having closer to a full year's worth of data for the Board and FGOC to evaluate will allow for both groups to both better understand and make informed decisions regarding the charging stations.
- 2) The Controller-Treasurer Department recently informed FAF that it needs to go through the entire Full Cost Recovery process if the Department desires to make any recommendations for changes to charging station user fee, including possibly reducing fees. The Full Cost Recovery process with the Controller-Treasurer Department can take several weeks to complete even when expedited and providing the off-agenda and FGOC reports in April would not allow sufficient time for that to happen. FAF would therefore not be able to provide any new fee recommendations at that time.

For the foregoing reasons, the Administration requests an extension to June 16, 2021.

Cc: Chief Board Aides Miguel Marquez, Chief Operating Officer James Williams, County Counsel Megan Doyle, Clerk of the Board Mary Ann Barrous, Agenda Review Administrator

Board of Supervisors: Mike Wasserman, Cindy Chavez, Otto Lee, Susan Ellenberg, S. Joseph Simitian **County Executive:** Jeffrey V. Smith